Honor Society & Awards

Be recognized for your excellence in academics.


Theta Alpha Kappa National Honor Society

Join over 90 Biblical and Theological Studies majors who have been inducted into our local chapter of Theta Alpha Kappa national honor society for religion and theological studies. 

Our chapter representative Dr. Ed Glenny will be cheering you on as you strive for excellence in your studies.

You’ll be rewarded with a life-time membership, a certificate, and a medallion to wear at commencement. Enjoy your copy of the Journal of Theta Alpha Kappa which publishes outstanding student papers. Your academic accomplishments may earn you a nomination for the Undergraduate Achievement Award (cash award).

You will be eligible for induction when you’ve met these qualifications as a Biblical and Theological Studies major:

  • completed at least three semesters at Northwestern
  • completed a minimum of twelve semester credits in religious studies/theological studies
  • attained a grade point average of at least 3.5 (B+) in such courses
  • attained at least a grade point average of 3.0 (B) in your total academic program
  • been ranked in at least the upper 35% of your class in general scholarship

Once inducted, you may compete in the annual Clark Award competition for the best paper in religious studies or theology. If selected, you’ll receive $500 and have your winning essay published in the Journal of Theta Alpha Kappa.


Zondervan Greek, Hebrew, and Theology Awards

To inspire you on your journey, we’ve partnered with Zondervan Publishing House for three awards. Be recognized for your outstanding achievement in Greek, Hebrew, and theology.

If you’re selected for an award, you’ll be honored in chapel with an award certificate. You’ll get to choose a free book from Zondervan. Your name will be engraved on a perpetual plaque displayed in Berntsen Library.

The 2023 Zondervan award winners are Jackson Rexine (Greek), Bennett Selfridge (Hebrew) and Jacob Stone (Theology). A complete list of Zondervan award winners will be posted on Zondervan Academic’s blog.

Ancient & Classical Languages Award

As you progress in your studies you may be nominated for the Ancient & Classical Languages award. If chosen, you’ll be recognized in chapel with a gift and an award certificate. Your name will be engraved on a perpetual plaque displayed in Nazareth Hall.

The 2023 Ancient & Classical Languages award winner is Brayden Thompson.